28 March 2007: Aosdána elects 15 new members including, for the first time, choreographers.

AOSDÁNA Announces Patrick Scott as Saoi

Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists engaged in literature, visual arts, architecture and as from today-choreography. Aosdána elected 15 new members at its General Assembly in Royal Hospital Kilmainham today Wednesday (28 March 2007); names attached.

The Arts Council established Aosdána in 1981 to honour those artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Ireland and to encourage and assist members in devoting their energies fully to their art. Membership of the organisation, which is by peer nomination and election, is limited to 250 living artists, who have produced a distinguished body of work. Members of the organisation must have been born in Ireland or have been resident here for five years. Aosdána members who reside in Ireland are eligible to receive a ‘cnuas’ from the Arts Council - an annuity for a term of five years - to assist them in concentrating their time and energies in the full-time pursuit of their art. The newly elected nominees will bring the current Aosdána membership to 227.

Commenting on today’s election, Arts Council Director, Mary Cloake congratulated all the newly elected members and said ‘this is a exceptional day for choreographers in Ireland in particular, with the appointment of Cindy Cummings and David Bolger this marks an important moment in the history of Aosdana.’


Election of Saoi

At today’s General Assembly it was announced that painter Patrick Scott had been elected as Saoi. The honour of Saoi is for singular and sustained distinction in the arts: not more than five artists may hold this honour at any one time. The four other Saoithe are: Louis le Brocquy, Seamus Heaney, Anthony Cronin and Brian Friel.


Aosdana New Members

  • David Bolger - Choreography
  • Pat Boran - Literature
  • Eamon Colman - Visual Arts
  • Cindy Cummins - Choreography
  • Shane de Blacam - Architecture
  • Brian Henderson - Visual Arts
  • Bernadette Kiely  - Visual Arts
  • Trevor Knight - Music
  • John McLachlan - Music
  • Ciaran O’Driscoll - Literature
  • Paul Mosse - Visual Arts
  • Vivienne Dick - Visual Arts
  • Kerry Hardie - Literature
  • Pat Harris - Visual Arts
  • Donal O’Kelly - Literature

For further information, please contact: Aileen Connor 087 253 0042

Issued by: Joe Stuart, Press and Communications Officer, Arts Council, Tel 01 6180 235

arrow bullet icon

Yelemba dance troupe from the Ivory Coast - Clonmel Junction Festival.

Recent publications
22 April 2014: Arts Council Plenary Minutes (March 2014) (PDF, 0.07 MB)
15 April 2014: Irish Arts Sector - Private Investment Report (PDF, 1.16 MB)
10 April 2014: Arts Council Prompt Payments Report January-March 2014 (PDF, 0.46 MB)