04 April 2011: Arts Council congratulates five new members of Aosdána

The Arts Council has sent its congratulations to the five artists who were today elected as members of Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland. John Arden, Joseph O’Connor, John Tuomey, Corban Walker and Daphne Wright were elected as members at the Aosdána General Assembly in the Royal College of Surgeons.
The Arts Council established Aosdána in 1981 to honour those artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the arts in Ireland and to encourage and assist members in devoting their energies fully to their art. Membership of the organisation, which is by peer nomination and election, is limited to 250 living artists, who have produced a distinguished body of work. Members must have been born in Ireland or have been resident here for five years. Aosdána members who reside in Ireland may be eligible, subject to an income threshold, to receive the ‘cnuas’ from the Arts Council - an annuity for a term of five years - to enable them to concentrate fulltime on their art.

arrow bullet icon

Yelemba dance troupe from the Ivory Coast - Clonmel Junction Festival.

Recent publications
15 April 2014: Irish Arts Sector - Private Investment Report (PDF, 1.16 MB)
10 April 2014: Arts Council Prompt Payments Report January-March 2014 (PDF, 0.46 MB)
07 April 2014: Annual report/An tuarascáil bhliantúil 2012 (PDF, 1.97 MB)